Richard A. Cook Gold Medal Award

The Gold Medal has been granted every year since 1930 (except during World War II) “in recognition of outstanding contributions to the City of New York.”

The prestigious list of honorees includes civil servants like Robert Moses, E. Virgil Conway and Ray Kelly; Mayors Fiorello LaGuardia, Robert Wagner and Rudy Giuliani; entertainers Oscar Hammerstein, Richard Rodgers and Tony Randall; corporate stalwarts like the Rockefellers; and city icons such as Carnegie Hall, the Museum of the City of New York and the New York Post.

In 2007, the award was named after long-time Association Chairman, Richard A. Cook.


1930 The Honorable Julius Miller
1931 Mr. Harvey Dow Gibson
1932 The Honorable Samuel Seabury
1933 The Honorable Grover A. Whalen
1934 The Honorable Robert Moses
1935 Mr. John D. Rockefeller, Jr.
1936 The Honorable Thomas E. Dewey
1937 Mr. James Speyer
1938 Mrs. August Belmont
1939 Mr. Cleveland E. Dodge
1940 The Honorable Fiorello H. LaGuardia
1946 His Eminence Francis Cardinal Spellma, Mrs. Ogden Reid
1947 Mr. Frederick H. Ecker
1948 The Honorable William O‘Dwyer
1949 Dr. Millicent C. McIntosh
1950 Mr. Oscar Hammerstien I, Mr. Richard Rodgers
1951 Mr. Alfred P. Sloan, Jr.
1952 The Honorable Howard S. Cullman
1953 The Honorable John Hay Whitney
1954 Mr. Arthur Hays Sulzberger
1955 Brigadier General David Sarnoff
1956 The Honorable Robert J. Wagner
1957 Mr. Keith S. McHugh
1958 Mr. Samuel D. Leidesdorf
1959 Mr. John D. Rockefeller III
1960 Dr. Howard A. Rusk
1961 Mrs. Charles S. Guggenheimer
1962 The Honorable James A. Farley
1963 The Honorable Paul R. Screvane
1964 Mr. Edmund F. Wagner
1965 Mr. David Rockefeller
1966 Mr. Austin J. Tobin
1967 Mr. John A. Coleman
1968 Mr. Gustave L. Levy
1969 Mr. J. Victor Herd
1970 Mr. Jack I. Straus
1971 Mr. William S. Renchard
1972 Mr. Robert S. Curtiss
1973 Mr. Gilbert W. Fitzhugh
1974 Mr. Leonard H. Goldenson
1975 Mr. George Champion
1976 Mr. William M. Ellinghaus
1977 Mr. Ellmore C. Patterson
1978 Mr. J. Henry Smith
1979 Mr. Charles F. Luce
1980 Mr. Harry B. Helmsley
1981 Mr. Richard R. Shinn
1982 Museum of the City of New York
1983 Dr. Edward J. Mortola
1984 Mr. J. Peter Grace
1985 Mr. Gene F. Jankowski
1986 Mr. E. Virgil Conway
1987 Mr. Edmund T. Pratt, Jr.
1988 Mr. Delbert C. Staley
1989 Mr. John J. Phelan, Jr.
1990 Mr. Felix G. Rohatyn
1991 Carnegie Hall
1992 Mr. William R. Chaney
1993 Mr. Tony Randall
1994 Mr. John F. McGillicuddy
1995 Mr. David A. Olsen
1996 Mr. Kenneth J. Gorman
1997 Mr. Simon J. Critchell
1998 The Honorable Rudolph W. Giuliani
1999 Mr. Robert R. Douglass
2000 Mr. Robert M. Johnson
2001 Mr. Robert B. Catell
2001 Mr. Charles J. Hamm
2002 Mr. Charles J. Urstadt
2003 The Right Reverend Mark S. Sisk
2004 The New York Post
2005 The Honorable Robert M. Morgenthau
2006 The Honorable Raymond W. Kelly
2007 John C. Cushman, III
2008 The Honorable Michael R. Bloomberg
2009 The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America
2010 Mr. Ralph K. Smith
2011 The Crew of US Airways Flight 1549
2012 Dominick M. Servedio
2013 The Hotel Association of New York and President Joseph Spinnato
2014 The Actors Fund
2015 Jaros Baum & Bolles and the Fire Department of the City of New York
2016 Richmond County Savings Bank
2017 Fordham University
2018 Joel Dolci
2019 New York Society of Association Executives (NYSAE)