President’s Welcome

Clinton W. Blume III, President

Since 1927, The Hundred Year Association has honored the achievements of organizations that have been in existence for more than a century, while also recognizing outstanding acts of public service that enhance the present and future prestige of New York City.

We are proud to celebrate the many contributions of our members – the corporations, family-businesses and non-profits that have played important roles in the history of New York. For the most part, their successes and civic-minded support goes unnoticed. One of our primary goals, therefore, is to bring much deserved attention to these establishments, the work they’ve done, and the work they continue to do.

Additionally, we are committed to thanking civil servants who significantly contribute to the city’s future success through their hard work and dedicated public service. Every year since 1930, The Association has awarded the Richard A. Cook Gold Medal “in recognition of outstanding contributions to the City of New York.”

The prestigious list of honorees includes civil servants like Robert Moses, E. Virgil Conway and Ray Kelly; Mayors Fiorello LaGuardia, Robert Wagner and Rudy Giuliani; entertainers Oscar Hammerstein, Richard Rodgers and Tony Randall; corporate stalwarts like the Rockefellers; and city icons such as Carnegie Hall, the Museum of the City of New York and the New York Post.

Pausing to remember and learn from the past is critical today as the speed of life continuously increases, businesses come and go, and the global landscape constantly changes. We hope that our efforts to preserve a small but important part of history will help others in accomplishing the great work of addressing the challenges of the future.

We believe that in order to gain perspective on the future, we must learn from and appreciate the past. Please consider supporting us in preserving pieces of yesterday that will help improve the foundation of tomorrow.

Very truly yours,


                                                                                                                Clinton W. Blume, III